IDF says it killed three Hamas and Islamic Jihad operatives in Gaza City strikes
The Israeli military said it killed three Palestinian militants in Gaza City on Thursday 8 October 2026 and destroyed four weapons stores, calling the activity a ceasefire violation. Only Israeli right-leaning outlets relaying the IDF's account are in the coverage.
1 / 2
The story, neutrally told
Right · 2The Israel Defense Forces said it killed three Palestinian militants in targeted strikes in Gaza City on Thursday 8 October 2026. The Jerusalem PostRC “The IDF killed three Palestinian Islamic Jihad and Hamas terrorists in the Gaza Strip on Thursday in targeted strikes.” Read at The Jerusalem Post ↗ JNSR “The Israel Defense Forces on Thursday struck and killed three Palestinian terrorists in the Gaza Strip” Read at JNS ↗ Right · 2The IDF named them as Hassam Walid Hassan Abu al-Ata, described as a commander in the rocket unit of Palestinian Islamic Jihad's military wing, Magdi Moein Yousef al-Ayoubi, also of that wing, and Muhammad Aja, a company commander in Hamas's military wing killed in the Al-Furqan area. The Jerusalem PostRC “Hassam Walid Hassan Abu Al-Ata, struck in Gaza City, was a commander in the rocket unit of the PIJ military wing.” Read at The Jerusalem Post ↗ JNSR “Muhammad Aja, a company commander in Hamas’s “military” wing, who was killed in the Al-Furqan coastal neighborhood in Gaza City” Read at JNS ↗ Right · 2According to the IDF, the three had recently advanced plans to attack Israeli soldiers and were working to restore their organisations' capabilities, which it said violated the ceasefire agreement. The Jerusalem PostRC “All three recently advanced plans for attacks against IDF soldiers and operated to restore the terror organizations' grasp on the Gaza Strip, according to the IDF” Read at The Jerusalem Post ↗ JNSR “took steps to restore the capabilities of their organizations, in systematic violation of the ceasefire agreement, according to the statement.” Read at JNS ↗
Right · 1The military said it took steps to minimise harm to civilians, including precision munitions and aerial surveillance, and that troops of its Southern Command are deployed in the area under the agreement and will keep acting against immediate threats. JNSR “Measures were taken to minimize harm to civilians, including the use of precision munitions and aerial surveillance, the military said.” Read at JNS ↗ Right · 2Also on Thursday, the IDF and the Israeli Security Agency (Shin Bet) said they destroyed four weapons storage facilities of Hamas and Islamic Jihad, holding rockets, explosive devices, mortars and Kalashnikov rifles. The Jerusalem PostRC “destroyed four weapons storage facilities used by PIJ and Hamas in targeted strikes across the Gaza Strip” Read at The Jerusalem Post ↗ JNSR “destroying four weapons storage facilities belonging to Hamas and Islamic Jihad.” Read at JNS ↗ Right · 2Earlier in the week, the IDF said it killed Muhammad Yazji, a commander of Hamas's Shati Battalion, in Gaza City on Monday 5 October; it said he had been involved in holding former hostages Emily Damari, Romi Gonen and Matan Angrest. The Jerusalem PostRC “The IDF killed Muhammad Muhsen Nimr Yazji, a commander of Hamas's Shati Battalion who held several former hostages” Read at The Jerusalem Post ↗ JNSR “Muhammad Yazji, a commander in Hamas’s Shati Battalion, was killed in an strike in the Gaza City area on Monday, Oct. 5, according to the military.” Read at JNS ↗
Right · 1JNS noted the IDF did not specify when or for how long Yazji was involved in holding each hostage, or whether he personally guarded them. JNSR “The IDF did not specify when or for how long Yazji was involved in holding each of the three hostages or whether he personally guarded them.” Read at JNS ↗ Right · 1JNS also reported that the IDF said it killed Muhammad Gamal of Hamas's Daraj-Tuffah Battalion in Sabra on Tuesday 6 October, and two Hamas members on Wednesday after they left Kamal Adwan Hospital in Beit Lahia, one of whom it said planted explosives stored in the hospital. JNSR “In a separate airstrike on Tuesday, Oct. 6, Israeli forces killed Muhammad Gamal, a terrorist who fought in Hamas’s Daraj-Tuffah Battalion”“it killed two Hamas terrorists after they were seen leaving Kamal Adwan Hospital in Beit Lahia” Read at JNS ↗ Right · 2All claims about the individuals' roles and plans come from IDF statements; the coverage includes no independent verification or response from Hamas or Islamic Jihad. The Jerusalem PostRC “according to the IDF, which added that this constitutes a violation of the ceasefire agreement.” Read at The Jerusalem Post ↗ JNSR “the military said on Friday” Read at JNS ↗
Every sentence links to the reporting it rests on. The pill in front of each says where its sources sit: Left, Centre or Right when one side supplies at least half of them, Mixed when they are evenly split. The number is how many outlets it cites.
Left0 outlets
No left outlet in our sources has covered this story yet.
Centre0 outlets
No centre outlet in our sources has covered this story yet.
Right2 outlets
- Framing
- Both outlets relay the IDF's announcement as a response to ceasefire violations by militants, using the military's terminology.
- Emphasis
- Names and roles of the dead, alleged attack plans, the hostage link of Yazji, and weapons sites destroyed; JNS adds hospital exploitation and hostage background.
- Leaves out or plays down
- No Palestinian account, casualty verification, civilian impact or response from Hamas or Islamic Jihad; no reporting on the ceasefire violations alleged against Israel.
- Charged language
- “terrorists”“systematic violation of the ceasefire agreement”“Hamas massacre”“cynically”
- For example
-
“Recently, the terrorists intensified attacks on IDF troops, in systematic violation of the ceasefire agreement.” — JNS
“IDF kills three Hamas, Palestinian Islamic Jihad terrorists in Gaza Strip” — The Jerusalem Post
What every side reports
- The IDF said it killed three Hamas and Palestinian Islamic Jihad members in Gaza City on Thursday 8 October 2026.
- The three were named as Hassam Walid Hassan Abu al-Ata, Magdi Moein Yousef al-Ayoubi and Muhammad Aja.
- The IDF said the three were planning attacks and that this violated the ceasefire.
- The IDF and Shin Bet said they destroyed four weapons storage facilities the same day.
Israel Defense Forces organisation
Says the strikes targeted militants planning attacks and rebuilding capabilities in violation of the ceasefire, that it took measures to limit civilian harm, and that it will keep acting against threats.
“IDF troops under the Southern Command are deployed in the area in accordance with the agreement and will continue to operate to remove any immediate threat” — JNS
Left0 articles
No coverage yet.
Centre0 articles
No coverage yet.
Right2 articles
-
IDF kills three Hamas, Palestinian Islamic Jihad terrorists in Gaza Strip
Neutral Short report relaying the IDF's account of the strikes and weapons-site raids, attributing claims to the military but using 'terrorists'.
-
JNSR ·
IDF kills Hamas, Islamic Jihad terrorists, destroys weapons sites in Gaza
Critical Longer report leading with the IDF's ceasefire-violation allegation, adding hostage background and the IDF's claim that Hamas exploits hospitals.

- 9 Oct 15:45 First The Jerusalem PostRC IDF kills three Hamas, Palestinian Islamic Jihad terrorists in Gaza Strip
- 10 Oct 16:26 +24h 41m JNSR IDF kills Hamas, Islamic Jihad terrorists, destroys weapons sites in Gaza
Times are when each article was published, or when we first saw it if the outlet gave no time.